//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

The Ultimate RSS Toolbox – 120+ RSS Resources

RSS feeds are my new newspapers and magazines. The time I earlier spent on reading printed papers, I now spend on reading my RSS feeds. My 181 subscribtions of RSS feeds are collected and maintained in Google Reader. The most importants in a directory called Blogs. I’ve set up Google Mobile RSS Reader to open new items for the Blog directory, and I use it a lot during the day. There I star and share and sometimes like the individual posts. I then move to Mobile RSS, and iPhone App which I use to filter the shared, liked and starred further.
The last part I do in the web version of Google Reader. Normally on the shared tab, where I unstar, until I have a 5-10 posts that I want to blog about during the day.
It’s time-consuming work, but it’s fun. The boring part is to see the news repeated in many feeds.
So I will slowly move over to tools like Summify, feedly, Pulse and Flipboad. For instance Summify, pulls posts also from twitter and facebook, eliminate duplicates and rate it. But still I’m stuch in the Google Reader habits…
A post in Mashable by Stan Schroeder take you through the RSS Toolbox. It’s a valuable resource helping me be up to date on RSS. He start like this:

Never again will mankind have to look for RSS info in more than one place…ok, we’re kidding, but we’ve aimed to create a near comprehensive list of all the RSS readers, tools, browser plugins, tips, hacks and directories available on the web. We hope you find it useful (we built it because we needed it), and feel free to add your own suggestions in the comments.
For those just starting out in the big wide world of RSS, note that we’re talking about Really Simple Syndication, a way to publish and subscribe to frequently updated content like blog entries and news items.
About mortjac

Norwegian social entrepreneur, blogger&Swift programmer. PM for the OMG GL standard. Using #ULab to give #Villajoyosa sustainable tourism&tunable pipe organs.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

@mortjac

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

